Deutsch      Sitemap      Impressum      Suche   
   
BUSINESS-AREA

: Skill of Select IT
: News
: Service
: Support
: Products
: Contact
: Web-Service
: Top Offer !
: Onlineservice
: Partners
PRIVATE CUSTOMERS

You are here: BUSINESS-AREA - Glossar

The great Computerlexikon !

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 
- A -
Address

In order to be able to address data, instructions or hardware, certain addresses are assigned to them. Also in the InterNet it gives to be called clear addresses, thereby certain sides can. Addressing is called the procedure, with which certain computer components are addressed.

zur Auswahl

AGP

Abbreviation for Advanced Graphics haven. A newly developed diagram bus, which accelerates communication between processor and diagram map. Beyond that the diagram map controls further functions e.g. the deposit of textures in the system memory.

zur Auswahl

API

Abbreviation for Application Programmers interface. Defines the interface between programs and the operating system. This interface makes program routines available, with which other programs can access hardware routines.

zur Auswahl

ASCII

The American standard code for information inter-CHANGE (= standard format for data exchange) describes an international 7-bit code, with which an indication is coded in each case. The respected place serves for the examination. With these seven bits 128 indications can be represented. Extended values from 128 to 255 are country-specific and represent indications of other languages and graphics characters.

>

zur Auswahl

AUTOEXEC.BAT

A batch file from DOS times, which is processed after the start. It contains data concerning the path of the operating system, environment variable and driver.

zur Auswahl

- B -
BIOS

Abbreviation for basic input output system. It is a program collection, which contains basis routines for the hardware access. When switching on of the PC on with the help of the BIOS a self check is accomplished. Since the operating system does not know each computer configuration, the BIOS offers standard routines, over which the operating system can access certain component.

zur Auswahl

Batch file

A such file consists of several instructions, which are successively processed. These files are usually operating system commands with some extensions.

zur Auswahl

Benchmark

This is a test for the leistungsbestimmung of a computer, whereby interaction is measured by hard and software. In addition several programs with different tasks are implemented. Certain values are measured and compared when desired with the values of other systems.

zur Auswahl

bidirectional

Bi-directional it means that a process runs off in two directions. There is also bi-directional penalty, with which the information about the same bus will receive sent and.

zur Auswahl

Boot range

It will also boat sector called and covers the first sectors of a non removable disk with their assistance the PC to be gebootet can. Here information about the data medium is stored.

zur Auswahl

booting

It is the starting procedure, with which the computer goes through several phases. First a hardware check comes, to it examined, whether operating system can be loaded, the operating system is loaded and the temporary work areas for the operating system furnished.

zur Auswahl

- C -
Client

An independent computer in a network, which can access data and programs of the server responsible for it.

zur Auswahl Character font

Character fonts (= Fonts) determine the appearance of documents. There are e.g. proportionally spaced printings, which use different widths for different indications. Furthermore certain font families exist, whereby these writings differ only in size and execution.

zur Auswahl

Crash

If a PC accepts no inputs and any longer does not continue working, then it is "abgestuerzt". This condition can be released due to errors in the hard or software.

zur Auswahl

Cluster

In file systems with non removable disks several sectors are combined into a cluster and regarded as a unit. Cluster 1 KB to 64 KB can be large, which varies depending upon the partition size. If in a cluster a very small file is stored, which is large only several bytes, then the remainder is considered as occupied. Modern operating systems use as small a cluster sizes as possible, so that too much storage location is not wasted.

zur Auswahl

Copy protection

In order to protect programs or files against unauthorized copying, there are different methods. Programs e.g. can be provided with a password, which is asked with the each start. Software on CDs will mostly provide the original CD with a copy protection such as SafeDisk, which permits a copying, when starting of the program however requires. These measures spurred Tueftler to find ways how one can go around the copy protection.

zur Auswahl

CONFIG.SYS

A ASCII file, which contains instructions to hardware and operating system attitudes of the PC. In this file driver for the attached hardware can register itself, so that they are loaded with each system start.

zur Auswahl

Cracker

Cracker try to penetrate exactly the same as hackers into secured systems without permission. Contrary to hackers their motives are rather in the destruction and fame under colleagues.

zur Auswahl

- D -
Data base

Designates a system for the storage of often large data sets in a file. The data are arranged according to certain definitions, in order to be accessible a circle of users.

zur Auswahl

Data compression

Marks a procedure, data through codes to compress. Normal texts or pictures can be compressed around the factor two to five. Acquaintance procedure for the compression of pictures are JPEG and MPEG, however these are compressed with certain quality losses. GIF files however can be compressed without, in addition, with quality losses.

zur Auswahl

Dissolution

The dissolution of monitor describes the extent at graphic information, which can be represented on a monitor. It is indicated for it in number of points in vertical and horizontal direction, e.g. 1024x768.

zur Auswahl

Decoder

English for Datenentschluesseler in a computer. Over programs data are decoded. So e.g. important data can be sent over data networks and be interpreted correct only by the receiver, because only this has the necessary decoding key.

zur Auswahl

DLL

Abbreviation for dynamic left LIBRARY. A characteristic of Windows and OS/2 for a library module, which is loaded if necessary into the main memory and all programs at the same time is available.

zur Auswahl

Driver

The drivers contain routines, with which an operating system hardware can steer.

zur Auswahl

DRIVER.SYS

A file, which contains device drivers for external devices.

zur Auswahl

- E -
Emulator

A program is to run on a computer system, for which it (e.g. a DOS program on a UNIX system) is not written. Then one must describe the program or a special program, an emulator, adapts it. An environment is put by the emulator to the program at the disposal, which behaves like the appropriate computer system. Thus the programs run however more slowly than on the genuine system.

zur Auswahl

- F -
FAT 16

Abbreviation for file Allocation Table (= file allocation table). 1977 for the operating system DOS develop. Here information about the allocation and the condition is the cluster (defective or OK ONE) on the non removable disk or disk, as well as the stored files (free or occupied) contain. The FAT lies adjacent on the boat sector. If it should be defective, a copy for the operating system is present. FAT 16 partitions can be large at the most 4 GB.

zur Auswahl

FAT 32

FAT 32 is the advancement of FAT 16, which 1996 for the first time for Windows 95b for the order. Since this file system with 32 bits works, the maximum partition size amounts to 2 Terabyte (2048 gigabyte). In addition more economically with the disk capacity one goes around, since smaller cluster are used.

zur Auswahl

- G -
GDI

Abbreviation for Graphics DEVICES interface or an interface for diagramable peripheral devices. Under Windows contain a library routines, which the connection to attached devices manufactures.

zur Auswahl

Graphic surface

A graphic screen representation, usually in fenstertechnik for the use of a PC by clicking symbols with the mouse programs can be started. The command input as with DOS is void, is however still present.

zur Auswahl

- H -
Hacker

Persons, who try to penetrate into other computer systems over data lines without permission. They try to break through the security by finding the password out. The objectives can be criminal kind, in addition, the personal play-rubbed causes hackers to these acts. That at least is the everyday definition. "richtigen" Hackers see themselves however differently. For them hackers are persons, who can to accept and for this reason into the systems penetrate e.g. no weak points in operating systems or Websites, in order to point safety gaps out. Today it gives even companies, which employ hackers these are to try to penetrate into own systems in order to determine the weak points.

zur Auswahl

Host

A main or a central computer in a network, which other computers for data exchange access. Host computers are connected by an interface with the network and consist e.g. of data bases.

zur Auswahl

- I -
INI files

Files with system information, which is interpreted when starting the system. They are normally put on with the installation contentwise. With Windows the most important INI files are "WIN.INI" and "SYSTEM.INI".

zur Auswahl

Intermediate file

Intermediate file the part of a memory is named, which holds data ready between individual processing steps. This is mostly used for copying and inserting, as far as it is supported by applications.

zur Auswahl

InterNet

The world-wide largest data network, with data lines mentioned by most different structure, also heterogeneous net. For the on-line Shopping, on-line Banking, Download is used a regarding by software, on the part of etc., whereby this happens independently of the operating system.

zur Auswahl

ISDN

Abbreviation for Integrated Services Digital Network. A digital net for communication, introduced by the Telekom. Several channels are offered to the user for telephoning or Surfen, whereby with the Surfen also the channel can be used for telephoning, as far as this supports the Provider. This doubles the data transmission rate on 128 bits.

zur Auswahl

ISO

Abbreviation for internationally standards organization. 1946 a created international standardisation organization with seat in Paris. The members consist of 70 national standardisation organizations. So e.g. the ISO-9660 is a format for the data storage on a CD-ROM.

zur Auswahl

- J -
Java

One of the company Sun developed programming language for the InterNet. It is a operating system-spreading language, which is meant for the InterNet use mainly. So Java applet (programs) can be implemented also on the Client in the InterNet. In America is called "java" colloquially "Kaffee".

zur Auswahl

- K -
Kernel

Marks the hardwarenaheste interface of an operating system. This part is processor dependent. The Kernel takes over the administration of hardware resources as well as the working storage management. The Kernel must be constantly in the main memory present.

zur Auswahl

- L -
LAN

Abbreviation for local AREA network, a local network. Local one of networks are put on, over on resources (software, data, printer etc..) to be able to access from several PCS. For this the PCS are interconnected by a line. Frequently a very efficient computer is in the network, on which the data are central stored and called up.

zur Auswahl

- M -
Macro

An instruction sequence (comparable with batch files), which contains stored instructions. If one opens this file, then the instructions are successively implemented.

zur Auswahl

Main memory

The main memory serves to accomodate programs, data needed at short notice, as well as the necessary parts of the operating system. If the PC is again started, the stored data are lost in the main memory.

zur Auswahl

MBR

Abbreviation for master boat record. The boat program of the BIOS reads the necessary information from it for starting the operating system. There data concerning e.g. the number and kind of the partitions are contained.

zur Auswahl

Modem

Short form for modulator and Demudulator. These devices are used for data communication in similar data networks. Their task consists of converting digital signals of the PC into similar signals for the data network.

zur Auswahl

Multitasking

The ability of an operating system to be able to process several tasks at the same time. Multithreading is multitasking with programs. A program is divided into several sections and processed without interference of the operating system.

zur Auswahl

- N -

zur Auswahl

- O -
OEM

Abbreviation for original equipment Manufacturer (= manufacturer of original equipment). PC manufacturers make the construction units of their PCS rarely independently, but refer the individual components such as non removable disks of the appropriate manufacturers (OEMs) to special conditions, which applies also to software such as operating system.

zur Auswahl

OLE

Abbreviation for Object Linking and Embedding (= link and embed). A procedure around objects such as text, pictures or tables, which were provided with an application to merge into another document.

zur Auswahl

OS

Abbreviation for operating system. See "Betriebssystem".

zur Auswahl

- P -
Parameter

They permit the user to affect programs after special requirements. Many programs are provided with this function for the universal employment. Parameters can be indicated e.g. as addition in the command line. So one can specify the dissolution e.g. over parameters with a monitor driver.

zur Auswahl

Partition

A subrange of a physical non removable disk, which is divided into logical drive assemblies (partitions). If FAT 16 is used, the partition size cannot amount to larger than two GB. Therefore a larger non removable disk must be divided into several partitions.

zur Auswahl

Periphery

A comprehensive term for all devices attached to the computer. They are divided in external memory, input devices, output devices and dialogue devices.

zur Auswahl

Path

With the help of the paths files can be stored and read in an arranged hierarchy. Paths are arranged in form of a tree.

zur Auswahl

Plug & Play

One of Intel and Microsoft developed possibility for the self configuration with PC plug-in cards. Setting of Jumpern for adjustment of addresses, interruption code etc. is thus redundant. With boats by the BIOS it is examined whether the attached hardware Plug & Play supported and appropriate resources become assigned.

zur Auswahl

Paging file

Paging files are put on, in order to make available more main memory. This file is put on on the non removable disk and used as additional main memories. If the physical main memory is not enough, parts are copied into the paging file. Working with so a file is a cheap extension of the main memory at expense of the speed.

zur Auswahl

PostScript

One of Adobe developed side posting language for printers. It contains vector-oriented instructions for production of the texts and diagrams. The printers must be compatible with PostScript.

zur Auswahl

- Q -
Source code

It is as it were the skeleton of a program or a HTML side, whereby also only this can be changed. From the source code a program can be produced, but a www side must be constantly formatted again in the Browser.

zur Auswahl

- R -
RGB

Abbreviation for red green blue, the basic colours for color monitors. From overlays of these colors can result 16 million colours. When printing however the CYMK Farbschema is used (cyanogen Yellow Magenta Black). CYMK is based on a substraktiven color blending, RGB however on that additives.

zur Auswahl Root listing

The root listing is the only listing, which does not possess predecessors. It contains the following listings and data. It is the starting point of a logical drive assembly (partition).

zur Auswahl

- S -

SCSI

Abbreviation for Small computer system interface (= interface for small computer systems). This interface is an advancement of SASI (Shugart Associates system interface). At the interface devices and a computer can be attached up to seven, whereby these must support also the SCSI bus system. The data transmission rates amount to 10 MT and more, whereby advancements offer such as SCSI 2, nearly SCSI, Wide SCSI and other higher rates and make additionally a connection possible of more devices.

zur Auswahl

Shell

English for bowl or case. Operating systems consist of a system core (Kernel) and an echelon of command (Shell). The Shell surrounds the Kernel and interprets commands of the user, which are passed on to the Kernel for the execution. SQL Abbreviation for Structured Query LANGUAGE. It is a data base language, with which the user that is simplified access to data base management.

zur Auswahl

- T -
Task

It is possible to let several programs run parallel. These programs have to solve different tasks, which are divided into subtasks. For the smallest task, which can be not further divided, task is started. Task is a closed task in a program section.

zur Auswahl

TCP/IP

Abbreviation for Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol. With this minutes safe communication between two different computers is ensured. The transmission reliability is created e.g. by an error handling and data flow control.

zur Auswahl

- U -

zur Auswahl

- V -
VGA

Abbreviation for video Graphics array. Marks a diagram standard with a dissolution of 640x480 pixel with 16 colors from a farbpalette of 262144 colours. If you start Windows into the safe mode, VGA is used.

zur Auswahl

- W -
WIN.INI

A system file, which reads and interprets Windows for configuration when starting. In this file attitudes are made, which describe the use of Windows. There is system-spreading values and software adjustments.

zur Auswahl

WYSIWYG

Abbreviation for What You lake Is What You GET (expressed as "Wihsiwig"). This is the name for a technology, with which one sees on the screen, what with an expression is also spent. If you format a text e.g. under Word fat, also directly one indicates.

zur Auswahl

- X -

zur Auswahl

- Y -

zur Auswahl

- Z -
Zero-modem

With zero-modem an interwiring is marked over the serial interface between two PCS for data exchange. Modern operating systems need for it no special software.

zur Auswahl

Heddesheim, 2021.10.26 at 5:07

Kunden-Login

Benutzername

Kennwort

> Registrieren
> Kennwort vergessen?

Werbung

 

© selectIT 2004

English      Sitemap      Impressum      Suche   
   
GESCHÄFTSKUNDEN

: über Select IT
: News
: Service
: Support
: Produkte
: Kontakt
: Internet-Service
: Top Angebot !
: Onlineservice
: Partner
PRIVATKUNDEN

Sie befinden sich hier: GESCHÄFTSKUNDEN - Glossar

Das große Computerlexikon !

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 
- A -
Absturz

Wenn ein PC keine Eingaben akzeptiert und nicht mehr weiterarbeitet, dann ist er "abgestürzt". Dieser Zustand kann durch Fehler in der Hard- oder Software ausgelöst werden.

zur Auswahl

Adresse

Um Daten, Befehle oder Hardware ansprechen zu können, sind ihnen bestimmte Adressen zugeordnet. Auch im Internet gibt es eindeutige Adressen, damit bestimmte Seiten aufgerufen werden können. Den Vorgang, bei dem bestimmte Computer-Komponenten angesprochen werden, heißt Adressierung.

zur Auswahl

AGP

Abkürzung für Advanced Graphics Port. Ein neu entwickelter Grafikbus, der die Kommunikation zwischen Prozessor und Grafikkarte beschleunigt. Darüber hinaus beherrscht die Grafikkarte weitere Funktionen wie z.B. die Ablagerung von Texturen im Systemspeicher.

zur Auswahl

API

Abkürzung für Application Programmers Interface. Definiert die Schnittstelle zwischen Programmen und dem Betriebssystem. Diese Schnittstelle stellt Programmroutinen bereit, mit denen andere Programme auf Hardwareroutinen zugreifen können.

zur Auswahl

Arbeitsspeicher

Der Arbeitsspeicher dient zur Aufnahme von Programmen, kurzfristig benötigten Daten, sowie den notwendigen Teilen des Betriebssystems. Wird der PC neu gestartet, sind die gespeicherten Daten im Arbeitsspeicher verloren.

zur Auswahl

ASCII

Der American Standard Code for Information Interchange (= Standardformat für Datenaustausch) beschreibt einen internationalen 7-Bit-Code, mit dem jeweils ein Zeichen verschlüsselt wird. Die achte Stelle dient zur Prüfung. Mit diesen sieben Bits lassen sich 128 Zeichen darstellen. Erweiterte Werte von 128 bis 255 sind länderspezifisch und stellen Zeichen anderer Sprachen und Grafikzeichen dar.

zur Auswahl

Auflösung

Die Monitorauflösung beschreibt den Umfang an grafischer Information, die auf einem Monitor dargestellt werden kann. Sie wird dabei in Anzahl von Punkten in vertikaler und horizontaler Richtung angegeben, z.B. 1024x768.

zur Auswahl

Auslagerungsdatei

Auslagerungsdateien werden angelegt, um mehr Arbeitsspeicher zur Verfügung zu stellen. Diese Datei wird auf der Festplatte angelegt und als zusätzlicher Arbeitsspeicher benutzt. Wenn der physikalische Arbeitsspeicher nicht reicht, werden Teile in die Auslagerungsdatei kopiert. Das Arbeiten mit so einer Datei ist eine billige Erweiterung des Arbeitsspeichers auf Kosten der Geschwindigkeit.

zur Auswahl

AUTOEXEC.BAT

Eine Stapelverarbeitungsdatei aus DOS-Zeiten, die nach dem Start abgearbeitet wird. Sie beinhaltet Angaben über den Pfad des Betriebssystems, Umgebungsvariablen und Treiber.

zur Auswahl

- B -
BIOS

Abkürzung für Basic Input Output System. Es ist eine Programmsammlung, die Basisroutinen für den Hardwarezugriff enthält. Beim Einschalten des PCs wird mit Hilfe des BIOS ein Selbsttest durchgeführt. Da das Betriebssystem nicht jede Computerkonfiguration kennt, bietet das BIOS Standardroutinen, über die das Betriebssystem auf bestimmte Komponente zugreifen kann.

zur Auswahl

Batchdatei

Eine derartige Datei besteht aus mehreren Befehlen, die nacheinander abgearbeitet werden. Diese Dateien sind in der Regel Betriebssystem-Kommandos mit einigen Erweiterungen.

zur Auswahl

Benchmark

Dies ist ein Test zur Leistungsbestimmung eines Computers, wobei das Zusammenspiel von Hard- und Software gemessen wird. Dazu werden mehrere Programme mit unterschiedlichen Aufgaben ausgeführt. Dabei werden bestimmte Werte gemessen und auf Wunsch mit den Werten anderer Systeme verglichen.

zur Auswahl

bidirektional

Bidirektional bedeutet, dass ein Prozess in zwei Richtungen abläuft. Es gibt auch bidirektionale Busse, bei denen die Informationen über den gleichen Bus gesendet und empfangen werden.

zur Auswahl

Bootbereich

Er wird auch Bootsektor genannt und umfasst die ersten Sektoren einer Festplatte mit deren Hilfe der PC gebootet werden kann. Hier werden Informationen über den Datenträger gespeichert.

zur Auswahl

booten

Es ist der Startvorgang, bei dem der Computer mehrere Phasen durchläuft. Zuerst kommt ein Hardware-Check, danach wird geprüft, ob ein Betriebssystems geladen werden kann, das Betriebssystem geladen und die temporären Arbeitsbereiche für das Betriebssystem eingerichtet.

zur Auswahl

- C -
Client

Ein selbstständiger Rechner in einem Netzwerk, der auf Daten und Programme des für ihn zuständigen Servers zugreifen kann.

zur Auswahl

Cluster

In Dateisystemen werden bei Festplatten mehrere Sektoren zu einem Cluster zusammengefasst und als eine Einheit betrachtet. Cluster können 1 KB bis 64 KB groß sein, was je nach der Partitionsgröße variiert. Wenn in einem Cluster eine sehr kleine Datei gespeichert wird, die nur mehrere Bytes groß ist, so gilt der Rest als belegt. Moderne Betriebssysteme benutzen möglichst kleine Clustergrößen, damit nicht zuviel Speicherplatz verschwendet wird.

zur Auswahl

CONFIG.SYS

Eine ASCII-Datei, die Befehle zu Hardware- und Betriebssystemeinstellungen des PCs enthält. In dieser Datei können sich Treiber für die angeschlossene Hardware eintragen, damit sie bei jedem Systemstart geladen werden.

zur Auswahl

Cracker

Cracker versuchen genauso wie Hacker in gesicherte Systeme unerlaubt einzudringen. Im Gegensatz zu Hackern liegen ihre Motive eher in der Zerstörung und Ruhm unter Kollegen.

zur Auswahl

- D -
Datenbank

Bezeichnet ein System zur Speicherung oft großer Datenmengen in einer Datei. Die Daten sind nach bestimmten Begriffsbestimmungen geordnet, um einem Benutzerkreis zugänglich zu sein.

zur Auswahl

Datenkompression

Bezeichnet ein Verfahren, Daten durch kodieren zu komprimieren. Normale Texte oder Bilder können um den Faktor zwei bis fünf komprimiert werden. Bekannte Verfahren zur Kompression von Bildern sind JPEG und MPEG, allerdings werden diese mit gewissen Qualitätsverlusten komprimiert. GIF-Dateien hingegen können ohne, aber auch mit Qualitätsverlusten komprimiert werden.

zur Auswahl

Decoder

Englisch für Datenentschlüsseler in einem Computer. Dabei werden über Programme Daten entschlüsselt. So können z.B. wichtige Daten über Datennetze gesendet werden und nur von dem Empfänger richtig interpretiert werden, weil nur dieser den nötigen Dekodierschlüssel hat.

zur Auswahl

DLL

Abkürzung für Dynamic Link Library. Eine Besonderheit von Windows und OS/2 für ein Bibliotheksmodul, das bei Bedarf in den Arbeitsspeicher geladen wird und allen Programmen gleichzeitig zur Verfügung steht.

zur Auswahl

DRIVER.SYS

Eine Datei, die Gerätetreiber für externe Geräte enthält.

zur Auswahl

- E -
Emulator

Ein Programm soll auf einem Computersystem laufen, für das es nicht geschrieben ist (z.B. ein DOS-Programm auf einem UNIX-System). Dann muss man das Programm umschreiben oder ein spezielles Programm, ein Emulator, passt es an. Durch den Emulator wird dem Programm eine Umgebung zur Verfügung gestellt, die sich wie das entsprechende Computersystem verhält. So laufen die Programme aber langsamer als auf dem echten System.

zur Auswahl

- F -
FAT 16

Abkürzung für File Allocation Table (= Dateizuordnungstabelle). 1977 für das Betriebssystem DOS entwickelt. Hier sind Informationen über die Aufteilung und den Zustand der Cluster (defekt oder OK) auf der Festplatte oder Diskette, sowie die gespeicherten Dateien (frei oder belegt) enthalten. Die FAT liegt angrenzend an den Bootsektor. Sollte sie defekt sein, ist eine Kopie für das Betriebssystem vorhanden. FAT 16 Partitionen können höchstens 4 GB groß sein.

zur Auswahl

FAT 32

FAT 32 ist die Weiterentwicklung von FAT 16, die 1996 erstmals für Windows 95b zur Verfügung stand. Da dieses Dateisystem mit 32 Bit arbeitet, beträgt die maximale Partitionsgröße 2 Terabyte (2048 Gigabyte). Außerdem wird sparsamer mit der Plattenkapazität umgegangen, da kleinere Cluster verwendet werden.

zur Auswahl

- G -
GDI

Abkürzung für Graphics Device Interface oder eine Schnittstelle für grafikfähige Peripheriegeräte. Unter Windows beinhaltet eine Bibliothek Routinen, welche die Verbindung zu angeschlossenen Geräten herstellt.

zur Auswahl

Grafische Oberfläche

Eine grafische Bildschirmdarstellung, meist in Fenstertechnik zur Benutzung eines PCs. Durch Anklicken von Symbolen mit der Maus können Programme gestartet werden. Die Kommandoeingabe wie bei DOS entfällt zwar, ist aber noch vorhanden.

zur Auswahl

- H -
Hacker

Personen, die in andere Computersysteme über Datenleitungen unerlaubt einzudringen versuchen. Sie versuchen durch Herausfinden des Passwortes die Absicherung zu durchbrechen. Die Zielsetzungen können krimineller Art sein, aber auch der persönliche Spieltrieb veranlasst Hacker zu diesen Taten. Das zumindest ist die alltägliche Definition. Die "richtigen" Hacker sehen sich aber anders. Für sie sind Hacker Personen, die z.B. keine Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen oder Websites akzeptieren können und aus diesem Grund in die Systeme eindringen, um Sicherheitslücken aufzuzeigen. Heute gibt es sogar Firmen, die Hacker beschäftigen. diese sollen versuchen, in eigene Systeme einzudringen, um die Schwachstellen festzustellen.

zur Auswahl

Host

Ein Haupt- oder Zentral-Rechner in einem Netzwerk, auf den andere Rechner für den Datenaustausch zugreifen. Hostrechner sind über eine Schnittstelle mit dem Netzwerk verbunden und bestehen z.B. aus Datenbanken.

zur Auswahl

- I -
INI-Dateien

Dateien mit Systeminformationen, die beim Starten vom System interpretiert werden. Sie werden normalerweise bei der Installation inhaltlich angelegt. Bei Windows sind die wichtigsten INI-Dateien die "WIN.INI" und die "SYSTEM.INI".

zur Auswahl

Internet

Das weltweit größte Datennetz, mit Datenleitungen von unterschiedlichstem Aufbau, auch heterogenes Netz genannt. Es wird zum Online Shopping, Online Banking, Download von Software, Betrachten von Seiten etc. benutzt, wobei dies unabhängig vom Betriebssystem geschieht.

zur Auswahl

ISDN

Abkürzung für Integrated Services Digital Network. Ein durch die Telekom eingeführtes digitales Netz für die Kommunikation. Dabei werden dem Benutzer mehrere Kanäle zum Telefonieren oder Surfen angeboten, wobei beim Surfen auch der Kanal zum Telefonieren verwendet werden kann, soweit dies der Provider unterstützt. Dies verdoppelt die Übertragungsrate auf 128 Bit.

zur Auswahl

ISO

Abkürzung für International Standards Organisation. Eine 1946 gegründete internationale Standardisierungsorganisation mit Sitz in Paris. Die Mitglieder bestehen aus 70 nationalen Standardisierungsorganisationen. So ist z.B. das ISO-9660 ein Format für die Datenspeicherung auf einer CD-ROM.

zur Auswahl

- J -
Java

Eine von der Firma Sun entwickelte Programmiersprache für das Internet. Es ist eine betriebssystemübergreifende Sprache, die hauptsächlich für die Internetnutzung gedacht ist. So können auch auf dem Client im Internet Java-Applets (Programme) ausgeführt werden. In Amerika heißt "java" umgangssprachlich "Kaffee".

zur Auswahl

- K -
Kernel

Bezeichnet die hardwarenaheste Schnittstelle eines Betriebssystems. Dieser Teil ist prozessorabhängig. Der Kernel übernimmt die Verwaltung von Hardware-Ressourcen sowie die Arbeitsspeicherverwaltung. Der Kernel muss ständig im Arbeitsspeicher vorhanden sein.

zur Auswahl

Kopierschutz

Um Programme oder Dateien vor unbefugtem Kopieren zu schützen, gibt es verschiedene Methoden. Programme z.B. können mit einem Passwort versehen werden, das beim jeden Start gefragt wird. Software auf CDs wird meistens mit einem Kopierschutz wie SafeDisk versehen, der zwar Kopieren erlaubt, beim Starten des Programms aber die Original-CD verlang. Diese Maßnahmen haben Tüftler angespornt, Wege zu finden, wie man den Kopierschutz umgehen kann.

zur Auswahl

- L -
LAN

Abkürzung für Local Area Network, ein lokales Netzwerk. Lokale Netzwerke werden angelegt, um auf Ressourcen (Software, Daten, Drucker etc.) von mehreren PCs zugreifen zu können. Hierzu werden die PCs über eine Leitung miteinander verbunden. Häufig befindet sich im Netzwerk ein sehr leistungsfähiger Computer, auf dem die Daten zentral gespeichert und abgerufen werden.

zur Auswahl

- M -
Makro

Eine Befehlsfolge (vergleichbar mit Batch-Dateien), die abgespeicherte Befehle enthält. Öffnet man diese Datei, so werden die Befehle nacheinander ausgeführt.

zur Auswahl

MBR

Abkürzung für Master Boot Record. Das Bootprogramm des BIOS liest aus ihm die nötigen Information zum Starten des Betriebssystems. Dort sind Angaben über z.B. die Anzahl und Art der Partitionen enthalten.

zur Auswahl

Modem

Kurzform für Modulator und Demudulator. Diese Geräte werden für Datenübertragungen in analogen Datennetzen eingesetzt. Ihre Aufgabe besteht darin, digitale Signale vom PC in analoge Signale für das Datennetz zu konvertieren.

zur Auswahl

Multitasking

Die Fähigkeit eines Betriebssystems, mehrere Tasks gleichzeitig abarbeiten zu können. Multithreading ist Multitasking bei Programmen. Dabei wird ein Programm in mehrere Teilstücke zerlegt und ohne Eingriff des Betriebssystems abgearbeitet.

zur Auswahl

- N -
Nullmodem

Mit Nullmodem wird eine Kabelverbindung über die serielle Schnittstelle zwischen zwei PCs zwecks Datenaustausch bezeichnet. Moderne Betriebssysteme brauchen dafür keine spezielle Software.

zur Auswahl

- O -
OEM

Abkürzung für Original Equipment Manufacturer (= Hersteller von Originalausstattung). PC-Hersteller fertigen die Bauteile ihrer PCs selten selbständig an, sondern beziehen die einzelnen Bausteine wie Festplatten von den entsprechenden Herstellern (OEMs) zu Sonderkonditionen, was auch für Software wie Betriebssystem gilt.

zur Auswahl

OLE

Abkürzung für Object Linking and Embedding (= verknüpfen und einbetten). Ein Verfahren um Objekte wie Text, Bilder oder Tabellen, die mit einer Anwendung erstellt wurden, in ein anderes Dokument einzubinden.

zur Auswahl

OS

Abkürzung für Operating System. Siehe "Betriebssystem".

zur Auswahl

- P -
Parameter

Sie erlauben dem Benutzer, Programme nach speziellen Erfordernissen zu beeinflussen. Viele Programme sind mit dieser Funktion für den universellen Einsatz versehen. Parameter können z.B. als Ergänzung in der Kommandozeile angegeben werden. So kann man z.B. über Parameter bei einem Monitortreiber die Auflösung spezifizieren.

zur Auswahl

Partition

Ein Teilbereich einer physikalischen Festplatte, die in logische Laufwerke (Partitionen) unterteilt wird. Wenn FAT 16 verwendet wird, kann die Partitionsgröße nicht größer als zwei GB betragen. Deswegen muss eine größere Festplatte in mehrere Partitionen unterteilt werden.

zur Auswahl

Peripherie

Ein Sammelbegriff für alle an den Computer angeschlossenen Geräte. Sie werden in externe Speicher, Eingabegeräte, Ausgabegeräte und Dialoggeräte eingeteilt.

zur Auswahl

Pfad

Mit Hilfe der Pfade können Dateien in einer geordneten Hierarchie gespeichert und gelesen werden. Pfade werden in Form eines Baumes angeordnet.

zur Auswahl

Plug & Play

Eine von Intel und Microsoft entwickelte Möglichkeit zur Selbstkonfiguration bei PC-Steckkarten. Das Setzen von Jumpern zur Einstellung von Adressen, Unterbrechungscodes usw. ist somit überflüssig. Beim Booten wird vom BIOS überprüft, ob die angeschlossene Hardware Plug & Play unterstützt und die entsprechenden Ressourcen werden zugeordnet.

zur Auswahl

PostScript

Eine von Adobe entwickelte Seitenschreibungssprache für Drucker. Sie enthält vektororientierte Befehle zur Erzeugung der Texte und Grafiken. Die Drucker müssen kompatibel mit PostScript sein.

zur Auswahl

- Q -
Quellcode

Er ist sozusagen das Skelett eines Programms oder einer HTML-Seite, wobei auch nur dieser verändert werden kann. Aus dem Quellcode kann ein Programm erzeugt werden, aber eine WWW-Seite muss ständig neu im Browser formatiert werden.

zur Auswahl

- R -
RGB

Abkürzung für Rot-Grün-Blau, den Grundfarben für Farbmonitore. Durch Überlagerungen dieser Farben können 16 Millionen Farbtöne entstehen. Beim Drucken hingegen wird das CYMK-Farbschema verwendet (Cyan-Yellow-Magenta-Black). CYMK basiert auf einer substraktiven Farbmischung, RGB hingegen auf der additiven.

zur Auswahl

- S -
Schriftart

Schriftarten (= Fonts) bestimmen das Aussehen von Schriftstücken. Es gibt z.B. Proportionalschriften, die für unterschiedliche Zeichen unterschiedliche Breiten verwenden. Ferner existieren bestimmte Schriftfamilien, wobei sich diese Schriften nur in Größe und Ausführung unterscheiden.

zur Auswahl

SCSI

Abkürzung für Small Computer System Interface (=Schnittstelle für kleine Computersysteme). Diese Schnittstelle ist eine Weiterentwicklung von SASI (Shugart Associates System Interface). An der Schnittstelle können bis zu sieben Geräte und ein Computer angeschlossen werden, wobei diese auch das SCSI-Bussystem unterstützen müssen. Die Übertragungsraten betragen 10 MB und mehr, wobei Weiterentwicklungen wie SCSI 2, Fast SCSI, Wide SCSI und andere höhere Raten bieten und zusätzlich einen Anschluss von mehr Geräten ermöglichen.

zur Auswahl

Shell

Englisch für Schale oder Hülse. Betriebssysteme bestehen aus einem Systemkern (Kernel) und einer Kommandoebene (Shell). Die Shell umgibt den Kernel und interpretiert Kommandos des Benutzers, die an den Kernel zur Ausführung weitergeleitet werden.

zur Auswahl

SQL

Abkürzung für Structured Query Language. Es ist eine Datenbanksprache, mit der dem Anwender der Zugriff auf Datenbank-Verwaltung vereinfacht wird.

zur Auswahl

- T -
Task

Es ist möglich, mehrere Programme parallel laufen zu lassen. Diese Programme haben verschiedene Aufgaben zu lösen, die in Teilaufgaben zerlegt werden. Für die kleinste Aufgabe, die nicht weiter zerlegt werden kann, wird ein Task gestartet. Ein Task ist eine geschlossene Aufgabe in einem Programmteil.

zur Auswahl

TCP/IP

Abkürzung für Transmission Control Protocol / Internet Protocol. Mit diesem Protokoll wird eine sichere Kommunikation zwischen zwei unterschiedlichen Computern gewährleistet. Die Übertragungssicherheit wird z.B. durch eine Fehlerbehandlung und eine Datenflusskontrolle geschaffen.

zur Auswahl

Treiber

Die Treiber beinhalten Routinen, mit denen ein Betriebssystem Hardware steuern kann.

zur Auswahl

- U -

- V -
VGA

Abkürzung für Video Graphics Array. Bezeichnet einen Grafikstandard mit einer Auflösung von 640x480 Pixel bei 16 Farben aus einer Farbpalette von 262144 Farbtönen. Wenn du Windows in den sicheren Modus startest, wird VGA verwendet.

zur Auswahl

- W -
WIN.INI

Eine Systemdatei, die Windows zur Konfiguration beim Starten liest und interpretiert. In dieser Datei werden Einstellungen vorgenommen, die die Nutzung von Windows beschreiben. Es sind systemübergreifende Werte und Softwareanpassungen.

zur Auswahl

Wurzelverzeichnis

Das Wurzelverzeichnis ist das einzige Verzeichnis, das keine Vorgänger besitzt. Es beinhaltet die nachfolgenden Verzeichnisse und Daten. Es ist der Ausgangspunkt eines logischen Laufwerks (Partition).

zur Auswahl

WYSIWYG

Abkürzung für What You See Is What You Get (ausgesprochen wie "Wihsiwig"). Dies ist die Bezeichnung für eine Technik, bei der man auf dem Bildschirm das sieht, was bei einem Ausdruck auch ausgegeben wird. Wenn du z.B. unter Word einen Text fett formatierst, wird das auch gleich angezeigt.

zur Auswahl

- X -

zur Auswahl

- Y -

zur Auswahl

- Z -
Zwischenablage

Mit Zwischenablage wird der Teil eines Speichers bezeichnet, der Daten zwischen einzelnen Verarbeitungsschritten bereithält. Meistens wird diese zum Kopieren und Einfügen verwendet, soweit es von den Anwendungen unterstützt wird.

zur Auswahl

Heddesheim, der 08.4.2020 um 11:57 Uhr

Kunden-Login

Benutzername

Kennwort

> Registrieren
> Kennwort vergessen?

Werbung

 

© selectIT 2004